Gardening

Organic Observations: Beginner Gardening

Welcome to “Organic Observations” aka excerpts from the journal I am starting about my first year as a gardener. I have decided that since I’m a newbie (other than helping my mother in the garden as a child and I have quickly realized that I retained almost none of that knowledge) that I would keep a daily journal and then upload some of those entries every week so others can learn from my adventures.

img_7516
My gardening journal – just an extra little notebook I had lying around. I am the queen of little notebooks.

***May 8, 2017***

Planting Day!

Some of the plants I bought already aren’t faring well. Due to distraction I didn’t tend to them in their flats as well as I should have. I almost didn’t plant today but at my mom’s urging, I sucked it up and got it done.

img_7485
I know that it’s just basically a fabric bag of wet dirt right now but I’m very proud of my first little garden and excited to see what sprouts!

Here is what I planted:

  • Tomato (plant)
  • Pepper (plant)
  • Spaghetti squash (seed)
  • Dill (seed)
  • Cucumber (seed)
  • Zucchini (seed)
  • Carrot (seed)
  • Carrot – short n sweet (seed)
  • Lettuce (seed)
  • Parsley (seed)

In separate box planter:

  • Mint (plant)
  • Sage (plant)
  • Parsley (plant)

I also stuck my 2 geraniums and 1 spike in a strawberry planter that I love because it was my grandmothers. The alyssum and marigolds I bought went to plant heaven. 😦

img_7479
My favorite container – Grandma’s Strawberry Planter

I also could have sworn I had radish and arugula seeds but they aren’t in the basket with all my other seed packets…If I find them I will just throw them in the garden somewhere because to be perfectly honest, that’s all I did to plant my garden. I was going to perfectly plan it out and have cutesy little DIY markers but I’m a slacker and instead threw a ton of seeds in and I will just see what takes.

img_7232
Got this basket a couple of weeks ago for 25 cents – super useful for keeping all of my seed packets handy!
While I have aspirations of being a master gardener someday, it is very important that I allow myself to be a beginner and have fun with this.

IMG_7446
Linking up with:

Talk of the Town

3 thoughts on “Organic Observations: Beginner Gardening”

  1. I am so thrilled to see your post! I am a beginner in gardening, too. The anticipation and care when it comes to gardening is tremendous. I look forward to seeing more posts. Hope you have fun!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by! The anticipation with my garden is definitely an addicting feeling. I find myself wishing I had put more thought and planning into it but ultimately I’m happy that I literally just threw it all together!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

