Home Decor & DIY

DIY Kitchen Chair Update

My kitchen redo continues! A couple of months ago I bought a set of 4 chairs off VarageSale (a great interactive garage sale site that I love to peruse just for fun sometimes). I wasn’t happy with the kitchen chairs that I currently had and these were a STEAL – 4 for $20. Well, technically 5 since she threw in one that kind of matched but needs some repairs. I’m going to do something different with that one.

Initially I was going to use all 4 around the big table I used to have but now that I have downsized my table I am just using 2 at the moment. Here’s a reminder of the chairs I’ve been using…

img_7819

Well, I wish I could take credit for this amazing DIY but I fully credit my parents for this one. My dad carefully sanded down, primed and painted the chairs and my mom made the new chair covers out of fabric that I picked out with the idea of it complementing my mason jars.

Drumroll please…

img_7821

Don’t they look just amazing?! Here’s a close-up of one of the chairs.

img_7823

This subtle plaid homespun is from Jubilee Fabric  (who by the way ships extremely fast!) and while at first I was concerned that the pattern would be too much of a harsh contrast against the black painted chairs but it turned out to be just the right amount of contrast.

img_7822

So here’s the cost breakdown:

Chairs – $5 each
Fabric – $3 for the half a yard that was used
Paint & Primer – $5.50

I know I’m a little biased but I think that these chairs look incredibly high end and make my cute little country table set look very classy. Plus when recovering these my mom discovered that they used to be cane bottom chairs and are very old. I LOVE giving old furniture new life and these sturdy chairs are going to last me for years and years. I have endless options of recovering the seat covers to match any décor that I may choose and can even repaint someday, though I feel that the black is always going to coordinate.

One more look at the before and after –

Seriously, I cannot get over this! I’m going to go drink a cup of tea while sitting on my new kitchen chairs now.

 

IMG_7446

Linking Up With:
Talk of the Town
Vintage Charm

1 thought on “DIY Kitchen Chair Update”

  1. Yes, they do look amazing, Rebecca! Your parents did a lovely job 🙂 Thanks for linking up the project with us at Vintage Charm–

    Like

Leave a Reply

